

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF THE COLLEGE OF PHYSIOTHERAPISTS OF ONTARIO

MINUTES

Friday, April 28, 2023 Virtual

Attendees

Theresa Stevens, Physiotherapist, President Hervé Cavanagh, Physiotherapist Nitin Madhvani, Public Carole Baxter, Public Richard O'Brien, Public Tyrone Skanes, Public Janet Law, Physiotherapist

Sharon Gabison, Physiotherapist, Academic

Karen St. Jacques, Physiotherapist

Dennis Ng, Physiotherapist

Jesse Finn, Public

Katie Schulz, Physiotherapist

Paul Parikh, Physiotherapist, Academic

Regrets

Jennifer Clifford, Physiotherapist Anna Grunin, Physiotherapist Laina Smith, Public

Staff

Anita Ashton, Interim Registrar Mara Berger, Director Policy, Governance and General Counsel Evguenia Ermakova, Policy Analyst

Recorder

Elicia Persaud, Governance Analyst

Guests

Sarah Yun, Weirfoulds

Friday, April 28, 2023

12:02 p.m. Welcoming Remarks and Roll Call

The Chair welcomed all members, opened the meeting with the College's Land Acknowledgement Statement, and confirmed the College's ongoing commitment to the public interest. Members were asked to declare any conflicts of interest for any of the items to be discussed during the meeting; none were declared.

1.0 Approval of the Agenda

Motion 1.0

It was moved by N. Madhvani and seconded by H. Cavanagh that:

The agenda be approved.

CARRIED.

2.0 Draft Regulations to Create an Emergency Class of Registration

- T. Stevens left the meeting at 12:25 p.m. due to technology issues and returned at 12:34 p.m. N. Madhvani, President Elect, chaired in her absence.
- K. Schulz left the meeting at 12:46 p.m.
- M. Berger and E. Ermakova provided Council with an update on the consultation feedback received on the proposed Emergency Class of Registration, which included 21 individual responses and two submissions from:
 - The Ontario Physiotherapy Association and,
 - The Competition Bureau of Canada.
- S. Yun reviewed the three proposed revisions to the originally drafted Regulations which include:
 - Removing the potential limitations on the Emergency Class of Registration in section 24.1(2)
 - Removing the direct and onsite supervision requirement in section 24.1(6)
 - And increasing the validity period of the Emergency Class certificate from 15 days to three months in section 24.1(7).

Council reviewed the proposed revisions and determined the following revisions would be included in the submission:

- Remove the limitations under section 24.1(2).
- Remove the requirement for the supervisor to be at the same practice site under section 24.1(6).
- To extend the validity period from 15 days to 90 days under section 24.1(7).

Motion 2.0

It was moved by J. Law and seconded by R. O'Brien that:

Council approve the proposed amendments to the General Regulation, made under the *Physiotherapy Act, 1991*, as amended, for submission to the Ministry of Health by May 1, 2023.

CARRIED.

T. Skanes abstained from the vote.

Notion 2.1

It was moved by J. Law and seconded by N. Madhvani that:

Council direct that the amendments to the General Regulation be circulated to members and other stakeholders for 60 days or such shorter period as the Minister may approve.

T. Skanes abstained from the vote.

CARRIED.

Motion 2.2

It was moved by N. Madhvani and seconded by H. Cavanagh that:

Council directs the Registrar to request a waiver or abridgment of the required circulation period.

CARRIED.

T. Skanes abstained from the vote.

Appointment of the Academic Representative

McMaster University is the next on the list to nominate an Academic Representative to Council. M. Berger noted that the nominated representative meets all eligibility requirements and if appointed would begin their term on June 26, 2023.

Motion 3.0

It was moved by T. Skanes and seconded by K. St. Jacques:

McMaster University has selected Sinéad Dufour as their University's Academic Representative to Council. Council is being asked to appoint Sinéad Dufour to Council effective June 26, 2023.

CARRIED.

Adjournment of Meeting

N. Madhvani motioned that the meeting be adjourned. The meeting adjourned at 12:59 p.m.

Theresa Stevens, Chair